Jumat, 08 April 2011

Suicide Silence

Suicide Silence is an American extreme metal band from Riverside, California. The group consists of vocalist Mitch Lucker, guitarists Chris Garza and Mark Heylmun, drummer Alex Lopez and bassist Dan Kenny. Formed in 2002, the band has released two full-length studio albums, three EPs, six music videos and have won two awards.


 Formation, debut EP and The Cleansing (2002–2008)

Suicide Silence were founded in 2002 in Riverside, California and were at that time, a side-project of many of the members of other groups. The band performed their first show at a local area within Riverside and at that time, the line-up consisted of the members Chris Garza and Mark Heylmun as guitarists, Mike Bodkins as bassist, Josh Goddard as drummer and two vocalists, Mitch Lucker and Tanner Womack. Shortly after their first performance, Womack was fired from the band and they released their first demo the following year. They released their second demo in 2003. After the replacement of Josh Goddard in 2004, the members took the band more seriously and were no-longer deemed as a side project. They would then advance to record their third and final demo in 2005. Following within 2005, the band released their first public release entitled, Suicide Silence EP which was released in the United Kingdom through Third Degree Records and later re-released through the English label In at the Deep End Records and in the US through SOS Records.[1]
Two years later, the band signed to Century Media[2] and released their debut full-length album The Cleansing. The album was recorded with Krissan Duwason, mixed by Tue Madsen, produced by John Travis and features artwork by Dave McKean. It debuted at number 94 on the Billboard 200,[3] selling 7,250 copies the first week, and became one of the best-selling debut albums in Century Media history.[4] With the success of their debut album, Suicide Silence were included to take part in Mayhem Festival that took place during the summer of 2008. They toured Europe with Parkway Drive and Bury Your Dead, following a successful US tour with the same bands. Also touring with Parkway Drive, A Day to Remember and The Acacia Strain in mid 2008 during the time when they were included to perform at Sweat Fest. At this point Suicide Silence were beginning to gain a wide range of fans throughout the world.
In 2008 the band covered the song "Engine No. 9" by Deftones that appeared on their debut album Adrenaline, Suicide Silence released the cover on their limited edition second EP Green Monster as well as iTunes.

No Time to Bleed (2008–present)

Two men are depicted on an outdoor stage set 
during the daytime, the man on the left plays bass while the man on the 
right is shown holding a microphone.
Suicide Silence at 2008's Mayhem Festival.
Shortly before embarking on Mayhem Festival, Suicide Silence's MySpace profile title read "Suicide Silence (Is writing a new album)", which was the first indication of ensuring the upcoming of their second album. On June 26, 2008, Mitch Lucker appeared on the Headbangers Ball blog podcast. In the interview, Lucker stated that the album would be recorded through tracks as opposed of being recorded live, such as The Cleansing. He also said the new album would "blow The Cleansing away". Machine was chosen by the band to be the producer of the album. The title for it was revealed as being No Time to Bleed.[5]
Suicide Silence began recording No Time to Bleed in February with producer Machine and engineer Will Putney.[6] During Music as a Weapon as well as the band's Cleansing the Nation tour, they began to perform the songs "No Time to Bleed", "Your Creations", "Lifted" and "Wake Up" months before the release of the album. In April they received the Revolver Golden God award for "Most Innovative Band" and performed at the awards show.[7]
Suicide Silence were included on 2009's Pedal to the Metal tour, along with the bands Mudvayne, Static-X, Bury Your Dead, Dope and Black Label Society.[8] During the same year, Suicide Silence was awarded the Golden God award for "Best New Talent", their second Golden God award received to date.[9]
Suicide Silence released No Time to Bleed on June 30, 2009 through Century Media. The album peaked at #32 on the Billboard 200,[10] selling 14,000 copies in the first week in the United States alone.[11][12] The opening track from the album, "Wake Up" was released as a digital download-only EP which includes the original song, a live performance of it and a remix handled by Shawn Crahan of Slipknot. A music video was produced for the song as well and made its debut premiere on Fearnet.[13][14] "Genocide" was released as the album's second single. Its music video was created in collaboration with Bloody Disgusting and a remix for the song was featured in the Saw VI soundtrack.[15][16]
Suicide Silence announced production for a music video for the song, "Disengage", of which was released as a single on April 20, 2010.[17] The video for it was released during June 2010.[18] The band played throughout the entire Warped Tour 2010[19] on the Altec Lansing Stage.[20] In October, the group will begin their first headlining tour in two years[21] with support from MyChildren MyBride, Molotov Solution, The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza and Conducting from the Grave.[22]

Styles and influences

Suicide Silence perform an extreme metal musical style known as deathcore,[23][24][25] which is a fusion between death metal and metalcore.[26][27] The band perform this style as well as gain influences from several other extreme musical genres such as black metal, grindcore, and mathcore.[28] The mathcore elements can be seen in the varied speed changes and complex time signatures in the band's music. The vocals of Mitch Lucker are frequently fluctuating between death growls and high-pitched screamed vocals used in black metal.[28] The drumming is very fast-paced, grindcore influenced, and employs a liberal use of double bass drumming and blast beats.[29]
The band members themselves have stated that they gain influence from groups such as Meshuggah, Sepultura, Cannibal Corpse, Suffocation, Necrophagist, Nile, Slipknot, Deftones and Korn

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar